Goodbye Google Plus

Most web users today have a Google account. They’re free and easy to maintain, and give you access to many of the basic G Suite products. Though most of your favorite Google features will remain untouched, Google+, Google’s social platform, will start the shutdown process by April 2 of this year. In an email to Google account holders, Google wrote that “on April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts.”

What does this mean for Google+ users? What should you do with your stuff on these accounts? Here’s what to do before the April 2 deadline:

Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages and Album Archive will eventually be removed. If you want to keep any of this data, make sure to store it safely outside of your account. Go to Google’s “download your data” page in order to move a copy of your photos, videos and files to a more permanent spot.

Now let’s talk about data backup solutions — where you should be putting all this data? Obviously, things you leave on your web-based accounts aren’t 100 percent safe from cybercriminals, malware, data leaks and unpredictable failures. It’s generally recommended that you at least keep two copies of your data; your local copy (such as your files in your documents folder) and a copy located elsewhere off of your local system. The secondary location can be the cloud, flash drive, or other media. Jungle Disk's cloud storage and backup solutions are perfect if you’re looking to backup data from more than one device.

The lesson learned here is that there’s no such thing as too many copies of your data. If you want it safe, make sure you trust the many places you keep it!

Protect Your Business Data

We are passionate about helping our customers protect their data. We want you to use Jungle Disk to protect yours. Click on Sign Up to get started. It takes less than 5 minutes!

Sign Up