Thanks!

You are now subscribed to our monthly blog digest. Happy reading!

Click anywhere to dismiss ...

How to Add Another Level of Protection to Your Jungle Disk backup.

In the Jungle Disk Workgroup application, you can add an extra layer of protection to your configuration aside from encrypting your online disks. To do this, you’ll need to click “Configure” in the Jungle Disk Workgroup Activity monitor.

Next you will want to click “Application Settings” in the upper left corner and to the right you should notice a “Password prompt:” option. “None” should be the default setting:

Jungle Disk Settings

The differences between the “Low”, “Medium” and “High” settings can be summarized in the table below:

Jungle Disk Matrix

  • Note: This functionality renders the entire XML settings file unreadable directly. If the settings file is then moved to another computer, the software will prompt for the account password if placed in the correct location and after restarting the Jungle Disk Service. ** Note: In OS X (Mac OS), the Jungle Disk Activity Monitor must be running in order to connect Network Drives. Because of this, our “Medium” option will require Mac users to provide their passwords before drives can be mounted, but Windows users have no such requirement. In Windows, drives will connect even if the Jungle Disk Activity Monitor is never started.

Possible Use Cases: None: No password prompt [default] Jungle Disk will never prompt you for your password (after your initial configuration), and will run the WebDAV server and mount Network Drives on service startup. This is great for someone who just wants Jungle Disk to run in the background and be able to adjust settings on the fly without any interruption.

Low: Open Configuration As an administrator, you’re planning on installing and setting up (or have already installed/set up) Jungle Disk to work exactly how you need it to on every computer in the office. To prevent intentional or unintentional modifications to your settings, you’d like to password protect the settings. You can use this option to prevent access to the Configure window in Jungle Disk. Your users will still be able to start restores without your help and can pause sync and backups in situations where they are needing to free up bandwidth temporarily. Caution: Clicking Disable Backups or Pause Sync will keep them off until they are manually enabled again. If you think your users may do this by mistake and forget to enable these options once more, consider using Medium.

Medium: Monitor Setup While your users will not be able to issue restores or start backups manually, they also won’t be able to Disable Backups or Pause Sync. Pick this option if you want to allow users to access their Network Drives (special note, see below) and/or have backups running automatically in the background. Special Note: On Macs, mapping the Network Drive(s) requires the Jungle Disk Activity Monitor to be open/running. So, if you’re on Medium: Monitor Startup, this results in needing to enter the password in order to map Network Drive(s) in Mac. On Windows, however, the Network Drives will still mount automatically without having to start the Jungle Disk Activity Monitor.

High: Service Startup At its highest security setting Jungle Disk will require your password before the service can start. This means that Network Drives cannot connect and Scheduled Backups cannot run until the password is provided. With this option, you would need to provide the user with his/her password so that authentication can be established when logging in. The service does not restart (on its own) until you restart or shut down/start up your computer. What’s the benefit? If your computer is lost or stolen, then the thief will not be able to gain access to your Jungle Disk backups or network drive without knowing your login password. With all other security options, your backups will continue running when connected to the internet (even after being stolen) and the drives will continue to mount, perhaps providing the thief with access to the documents you and your company are sharing.

The Workgroup applications security levels in conjunction with online disk encryption as well as read and read/write access for users to those online disk gives the account administrator a number of options in controlling how the data on their account is managed. Using the security level that best meets your needs can prevent or eliminate potential undesired configuration changes and is a feature we’ll often see overlooked. Should you have any additional questions regarding these security settings, please do not hesitate to contact support and we’ll happily assist in choosing the best setting that matches your needs as either an individual user or account administrator.

Protect Your Business Data

We are passionate about helping our customers protect their data. We want you to use Jungle Disk to protect yours. Click on Sign Up to get started. It takes less than 5 minutes!

Sign Up